Blog Categories
  • Visit our Indiegogo campaign!

  • Support the IAF!

    The Interstitial Arts Foundation needs your support. Click here to donate and become a Friend of the IAF!

  • @InterstitialArt

  • About the IAF

    The Interstitial Arts Foundation is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to the study, support, and promotion of interstitial art: literature, music, visual and performance art found in between categories and genres – art that crosses borders. Find out more!

  • Latest IAF News


    Thanks to 277 generous backers for our Interfictions Indiegogo Campaign, we raised $10,318 by the time our campaign ended at midnight, July 14th, 2014.  When we launched on June 3rd, we were staggered to find donations doubling almost daily, until after about 3 weeks we had reached our original target goal of $8,500, and were able to move on to our Stretch Goal of $10,000.

    Which means we not only get to publish Interfictions Online for another year, but we can pay our contributors at higher rates now, rates more in line with the effort and talent that innovation requires. Thank you, each and every one of the 277 generous donors who stepped forward to say that interstitial art is valued and valuable. The number of people is as important as the number of dollars raised. We are awed by your generosity.
    Now [...]

    INTERFICTIONS issue #3 is up online!

    The editors of Interfictions Online are happy to announce the birth of the journal’s latest issue, on May 22, 2014!

    The Spring 2014 issue’s non-fiction offerings include Mark Craddock’s poignant collage in Aerial Acrobatics and Gender Reassignment Surgery – A How-To Guide, while Inda Lauryn’s Parallels and Transitions splices analysis of contemporary female vocalists into a graduate school memoir. Isabel Yap’s Life Is Not a Shoujo Manga speaks for itself. And in an interview with Jeff VanderMeer and Jeremy Zerfoss, the two creators discuss their illustrated guide to writing, Wonderbook.

    The fiction offerings remix tropes from ghosts to automata, with new work by Richard Butner, Su-Yee Lin, Kat Howard, Tade Thompson and S. Craig Renfroe Jr.

    Several of the poems in this issue reimagine older narratives: Sridala Swami’s AI Winter draws on the Mahabharata, Sonya Taaffe’s Double Business on Hamlet, and Mary Alexandra Agner’s Hypothesis Between Your Ribs on the brief life of Charles Darwin’s daughter.


  • Featured IAF News

  • Events

    Nothing has been posted in the selected categories.

  • Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Meta

  • ≡ IAF Team

    The Interstitial Arts Foundation was founded in January 2003, and received 501(c)(3) status as a legal nonprofit organization in January 2004. The administrative work of the Foundation is done by the Executive Board, along with planning and leadership for our projects. The Working Group provides input, guidance and the backbone of the volunteer force that keeps these projects going.

    The members of these boards come from a variety of fields. Some have created interstitial art; others are best known for work in a single genre or category but have a lively interest in border-crossing arts. And some are arts activists or administrators. All are dedicated to fostering an artistic climate and marketplace in which interstitial literature, visual art, music, and performance can flourish.

    Executive Board

    Victor Raymond (President)
    Ellen Kushner (Vice President)
    Delia Sherman (Treasurer)
    Deborah Atherton (Secretary)
    Wendy Ellertson
    Elizabeth Genco
    Geoffrey Long
    Katherine Pendill
    Stephen H. Segal
    Erin Underwood

    Working Group

    Barth Anderson
    Chris Barzak
    Holly Black
    K. Tempest Bradford
    Deborah J. Brannon
    Barrie Lynn Bryant
    Carol Burrell
    Elissa Carey
    Ellen Denham
    Alan DeNiro
    Carolyn Dunn
    Joellen Easton
    Heinz Insu Fenkl
    Gregory Frost
    Edward Gauvin
    Liz Gorinsky
    Theodora Goss
    Gavin Grant
    Felice Kuan
    Kelly Link
    Shira Lipkin
    Kristin Livdahl
    Joy Marchand
    Kristin McDermott
    Aria Nadii
    Larissa Niec
    Chandra Peltier
    Helen Pilinovsky
    Veronica Schanoes
    Warren Senders
    Karen Shaffer
    Brian Slatterly
    Will Shetterly
    Sarah Smith
    Diana Munoz Stewart
    Lisa Stock
    Vera Tobin
    William Todd-Jones
    Connie Toebe
    Catherynne M. Valente
    S. B. Westbrook
    Erzebet YellowBoy

    Administrative Coordinator

    Davey Snyder